Instructors

Martin Mapa

Instructor

Description

COURSE DESCRIPTION: CCW INITIAL

Your issuing Police or Sheriff’s Department requires that all new CCW applicants attend and pass a CCW training course. The curriculum for that course must include lessons on gun safety, permissible use of gun laws, a written exam and a shooting proficiency exam. Our class not only meets but exceeds the curriculum requirements set by your issuing county. As with all our courses, classes will be kept to a small number of students in order to maintain a safe and fun learning environment.
This California CCW 16-hour initial issue class is recognized by Sacramento, San Joaquin, Placer, El Dorado counties. This class includes qualifying with up to 3 handguns ($15.00 for each additional hand gun). Most departments limit your permit to 3 guns.
At the end of the course you will be issued a certificate of completion. This certificate does not guarantee you a CCW permit. The decision to grant a CCW permit will be ultimately determined by the Police or Sheriff’s Department that you applied with.
IMPORTANT: Once registered for this class, please e-mail guntraining@aimft.com the following information for your certificate:
1. Your name exactly as you want it to appear on your certificate.
2. Make, model, caliber and serial number(s) of each handgun(s) you intend to qualify with.

COURSE OVERVIEW

COURSE LENGTH: 16 hour, 2-Day course
COST: $225 + Range Fee
Note: Range Fee $15.00 for non-members and $5.00 for FSC members
COURSE OPEN TO: Any student qualified to obtain their California Concealed Carry Permit. This course is limited to a maximum of 10 students to ensure a safe and fun learning environment.
Careless/unsafe gun handling is not acceptable and will be cause for removal from the class with no refund.
Topics Covered in This Course:
  • State and Federal Law – Concealed Carry & Permissible Use of Force
  • Firearms Safety
  • Pistol Selection and Maintenance
  • Holster options
  • Ammunition
  • Shooting Fundamentals
  • The levels of awareness
  • Clearing malfunctions
  • The value of dry practice
  • Range qualification

WHAT TO BRING:

DAY 1
  • A note pad and pen
  • A government issued ID
  • Drinks, lunch and snacks
  • Handgun(s) that you intend to qualify with (No ammunition needed on day 1)
  • At least two functional magazines for each semi-automatic pistol and/or at least one functional speed loader for each revolver
  • An open mind with a great attitude!
DAY 2
  • A note pad and pen
  • Range fee $15.00
  • Drinks, lunch and snacks
  • Break for lunch at 12:00
  • The handgun(s) that you intend to qualify with
  • At least two functional magazines for each semi-automatic pistol and/or at least one functional speed loader for each revolver
  • Holster for each gun – Holster must cover the trigger
  • Magazine pouch and/or speed loader holders (recommended but not required)
  • Eye and ear protection is mandatory
  • Approximately 100 to 150 rounds of ammo per gun (Extra is always better than “I ran out”)
  • An open mind and great attitude!

DIRECTIONS:

DAY 1: Classroom – Sacramento Valley Shooting Center 8:00am – 5:00pm
Meet at 0800 at:
SAC VALLEY SHOOTING CENTER
15501 Meiss Rd. Sloughhouse, CA 95683
(DO NOT USE GPS – Follow these directions: http://www.sacvalley.org/contact.html )
DAY 2: Range – Sacramento Valley Shooting Center 8:00am – 5:00pm
Meet at 0800 at:
SAC VALLEY SHOOTING CENTER
15501 Meiss Rd. Sloughhouse, CA 95683
(DO NOT USE GPS – Follow these directions: http://www.sacvalley.org/contact.html )
RANGE FEES: Instructor will collect range fees from each student. $5.00 for Folsom Shooting Club members and $15.00 for non-members.

Eligibility

Open Enrollment Courses are available to all qualified, who can legally own and/or possess firearms within the State of California. To qualify you cannot have been convicted of a felony or violent misdemeanor, and not under any criminal indictment that would legally prevent you from receiving this training.